Deakin University

Address and Contact details
Deakin University
Geelong VIC 3217
Telephone: (03) 5227 1100
Fax: (03) 5227 2001
About Deakin University

With urban and regional campuses and distance education materials, Deakin offers flexible learning that responds to your way of life and learning.

Deakin’s five campuses are located in Melbourne (at Burwood and at Toorak); in Geelong (at Waurn Ponds and the Waterfront); and in Warrnambool.

In addition to traditional campus-based teaching, Deakin provides off-campus and online study options, giving students the flexibility to change study mode during a course and to choose from a broad range of subjects. More than 12,000 of Deakin’s 30,000 students study externally and the University’s library and IT resources are designed to fully support this.

Online learning makes the delivery of Deakin’s courses flexible for both on- and off-campus students, appealing to students studying part-time, many of whom are mature-age. Many courses have a built-in work experience component, offering professional experience and contacts. Deakin is committed to professional education and training and has excellent connections with corporations and professional associations.

A vibrant culture of research is encouraged at Deakin, with research priorities focusing on emerging issues and trends, such as Biotechnology, Materials Manufacturing, Citizenship and Globalisation, Natural Resource Sustainability and Physical Activity and Nutrition.

Courses are offered across five faculties: Arts; Business and Law; Education; Health and Behavioural Sciences; and Science and Technology. Deakin also offers unique community based delivery of courses for Indigenous students through its Institute of Koorie Education.

Deakin is committed to providing access to its courses to a wide range of students including school leavers, TAFE and mature-age students.

Number of Available Higher Education Places
In 2004, Deakin had 21,074 places (EFTSL), (34,197 student numbers)

National Priority Places
In 2004, Deakin received 15 regional nursing places (EFTSU), rising to 41 places after 4 years.
In 2005, Deakin will receive 80 new nursing places (EFTSL), rising to 219 in 2008
In 2005, Deakin will receive 40 new teaching places (EFTSL), rising to 109 in 2008

Course Information
Course Finder
Online Handbook

Home > Universities in Australia > Deakin University
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.